Notable Alumni

Notable Alumni

LGS, LGHS and GSAL alumni have achieved outstanding success in a range of diverse fields and we are proud to have them in our alumni community.  We are always keen to hear about our alumni achievements so please do contact us with your success stories.

Name Accomplishments
Thomas T Adamson-Coumbousis International journalist and news presenter
Jeff Barak Former Middle East correspondent of the Jewish Chronicle
Gordon Benson Olympic triathlete, Team GB
Robin Blaze Opera singer
James Brining Artistic Director, West Yorkshire Playhouse
Prof Sir Richard Brook OBE ScD FREng Emeritus professor
Sir Stephen Brown KCVO Former British Ambassador to the Republic of South Korea and High Commissioner to Singapore
William Arthur Brown CBE Former Master of Darwin College, Cambridge
Toby Castle Deputy Head of News, BBC
Rev Canon Rex Chapman Former chaplain to the Queen
Prof Robin Choudhury Cardiologist
Jeff Christie Singer and songwriter
Alistair Cox Chief Executive of Hays Plc
Barry Cryer OBE Comedian and writer
Howard Devoto Singer songwriter with Buzzcocks and Magazine
Jeremy Dyson Writer, screenwriter, author, actor, musician
Lord John Dyson Former Master of the Rolls and Head of Civil Justice, Justice of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom
Matthew Elliott Founder of the Tax Payers Alliance, Big Brother Watch and Britain for Business
Nicola Elliott Co-founder of Neom
John Ficenec Editor of the Questor column at the Telegraph Media Group
Lucy Frazer QC MP for South East Cambridgeshire and Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Ministry of Justice
Prof Paul Hare Former British Ambassador to Cuba
Tony Harrison Poet, translator and playwright
Winner of European prize for literature in 2010
Richard Harrington Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
Sir Christopher Holland Former High Court Judge
Yona Knight-Wisdom Olympic athlete, Jamaican diving team
Peter Levine Philanthropist and lawyer, founder of Imperial Energy plc
Lucy Manning Special correspondent, BBC
Dame Alison Mariot Leslie Brexit Advisor to Scotland’s First Minister and former diplomat
James Marshall Head of Policy, 10 Downing Street
Professor Andrew McNaughton Technical Director, HS2
Adam Memon Director of Strategy, The Conservative Party
Robin Middleton Olympic athlete, Australian badminton team
Colin Montgomerie OBE Professional golfer
Baroness Pauline Neville –Jones Former diplomat
Former Chairman of the British Joint Intelligence Committee
Government’s Special Representative to Business on Cyber Security
Geoff Newton Executive Director of the Tennis Foundation and on the board of the British Paralympic Association
Sir Harry Ognall Former High Court Judge
David Palmer-Jones Chief Executive of SITA UK
Sir Andrew Park Former High Court Judge
David Prentis General Secretary of UNISON
Richard Price MBE Film and theatre producer
Ian Ritchie Former CEO, Rugby Football Union
Thelma Ruby Actor
Guy Sigsworth Composer, producer and songwriter
Samantha Simmonds BBC World Service news presenter
Prof Peter Sleight Cardiologist
Prof Maureen Smith Musician, winner of BBC violin competition at 18
Rory Smith Chief Soccer Correspondent, New York Times
Lady Valerie Solti Actor and Founder of the Solti Foundation
Hannah Starling Commonwealth Games medallist – diving
Marilyn Stowe Founder of Stowe Family Law
Jonathan Straight Founder of Straight plc
Robert Sullivan Strategy and Communications Director, The Football Association
Sophie Taylor Commonwealth Games medallist – swimming
Sir Gary Verity Chief Executive of Welcome to Yorkshire
Sir Anthony Vineall Former chairman Teachers Review Body
Nigel Waterson Former MP for Eastbourne, founder of Waterson Hicks law firm
Philip Wilby Composer, Professor Emeritus of Leeds University
Ricky Wilson Musician, lead singer Kaiser Chiefs
Sir Peter Woodhead KCB Former Deputy Allied Commander Atlantic

Memento Alumni Magazine


Find us on…

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-linked

Or, if you prefer to chat with someone please call our admissions team on 0113 229 1552