Leeds Luminaries Awards: voting is now open

Friday 23 February 2018

Voting is now open for the Leeds Luminaries Awards 2018, which we have introduced this year to mark the 10th birthday of The Grammar School at Leeds.

From an extremely strong long list of nominees, here is the shortlist of 21 old boys and old girls  and one teacher from LGS, LGHS and GSAL who need your votes for a chance to be one of the first recipients of a Leeds Luminaries award.

STEM and medicine

Zoe Hudson (OG84)

Dr Sam Cohen (OL05)

Business and enterprise

Graeme Lee (OL83)

Kathryn Cearns OBE (OG82)

Debbie Wosskow OBE (OG92)

Charity and community

Gareth Dunn (GSAL09)

Kate Newton (OG93)

Barry Brindley (LGHS/GSAL)


Yona Knight-Wisdom (GSAL11)

Lucy Harris (GSAL14)

Gordon Benson (GSAL12)

Lifetime achievement

Baroness Pauline Neville-Jones (OG58)

Jennifer Bray (OG61)

Lord Dyson (OL61)

Sir Harry Ognall (OL52)

Arts and humanities

Lady Valerie Solti (OG55)

Richard Price (OL50)

James Brining (OL86)

Rising star

Olly Cracknell (GSAL12)

Luke Johnson (GSAL10)

Haaris and Shaan Ahmed (GSAL09/11)

Voting is open to alumni of LGS, LGHS and GSAL and you can select one person from each of the seven categories.

Find out more about each of the nominees and cast your vote here Voting closes on Wednesday 17 October 2018.

« All stories

Or, if you prefer to chat with someone please call our admissions team on 0113 229 1552