Schools’ Physicist of the Year awards for GSAL duo

Thursday 13 July 2017

Two keen young physicists from The Grammar School at Leeds (GSAL) have received a boost to their chances of winning a place to study their favourite subject at a top university.

Year 12 students Theo Tobias and Tamanna Dasanjh have been recognised with the prestigious award of Schools’ Physicist of the Year (SPOTY), an honour conferred by science education charity The Ogden Trust

The SPOTY title rewards students for exceptional engagement in lessons and commitment both to expanding their own understanding and empowering their peers to achieve success. The trust selects recipients of this significant accolade from nominations made by school physics teachers.

GSAL’s head of physics Tom Rogerson said: “I nominated Theo and Tamanna for their outstanding enthusiasm for and dedication to physics. Their deep interest in the subject extends well beyond the syllabus and they show initiative in exploring new ideas. It’s a remarkable achievement for them to be recognised with this award.”

Recipients of the award become alumni of The Ogden Trust, a status which allows students the opportunity to apply for support during their further studies such as scholarships, internships and mentoring.

The regional award ceremony, for students from Ogden Partnership schools in Leeds and surrounding areas, was held at the University of Leeds. It is one of 25 such events around the country which will award over 600 SPOTY titles nationally, including a primary award for Year 6 pupils.

Ogden Trust consultant Elizabeth Crilly, director of STEM Team East and a director for the Cambridge Science Centre, presented the awards at the Leeds ceremony. Dr Rob Purdy, lecturer in theoretical physics and admissions tutor at Leeds University, also spoke about the benefits of studying physics at university.





« All stories

Or, if you prefer to chat with someone please call our admissions team on 0113 229 1552